What’s the difference between Dairy Intolerance and Lactose Intolerance?
Have you ever been strolling through the aisles of your local supermarket during your weekly grocery shop, heading to grab some ice cream, milk or yoghurt only to be faced with a bunch of product labels you’ve never seen before? Lactose-free, dairy-free, non-dairy – what do they all mean, what’s the difference between them all? Well that’s what we’re here to uncover.
To completely understand what it means to be ‘dairy-free’ or to have a dairy intolerance, it’s important to understand what dairy actually means. The term ‘dairy’ refers to milk and any part of milk that comes from cows, meaning a dairy intolerant person can’t consume milk or any products that are derived from milk such as cream, butter, sour cream, yogurt, cheese or, chocolate. It also includes products which contain traces of milk products such milk solids, casein, lactose and whey.
A dairy intolerance is when a person reacts to not just the lactose (Milk sugar) but they also react to one or more of the other components of milk such as whey or casein (Milk protein). This means that the person would still feel unwell or get symptoms if they drink lactose free milk because they are also reacting to one of the other substances present – typically casein.